Hottest New Dessert:: Gourmet Rice Krispy Treats


Heeey Friends,

I was looking for the tried and true, very simply version of making rice krispy treats to take on a family day trip, you know the marshmallows, butter, and of course, the little puffs of rice  that mom used to make.  I kept feeling like I was leaving something out so I jumped on Pinterest ( ya’ll already know that me and Pinterest have this thing ) and to my surprise Rice Krispy Treats have been reinvented! They didn’t look like the ones I grew up with, dozens of fancy smancy recipes came up. S’mores, Oreo, Chocolate, just to name a few. They are gourmet yet the simplicity was still there. I was mesmerized and found this article that thinks this will likely become “the” hot new dessert trend. What?!?!? REally?! YUP!

I did feel a bit of nostalgia looking at them, we’ll have to see about them dominating cupcakes but I will tell you that I’ve already picked out recipes I want to try. My first one will be the turtles ( see complete recipe at the end of this post)  I plan on making them in the very near future.

Did you know about this trend? What are your thoughts about this reinvention of Rice Krispy Treats?

Turtle Rice Krispy Treats

turtle rice krispy treat

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp of butter
  • 1 – 10 oz. package of marshmallows
  • 6-7 cups chocolate Krispies cereal (like Kellogs Cocoa Krispies)
  • approx. 12 tbsp melted caramels
  • approx. 12 tbsp melted chocolate
  • appox. 12 tbsp chopped pecans

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, microwave the marshmallows and butter together for 1 minute.
  2. Remove and stir until smooth (microwave for an additional 30 seconds if needed).
  3. Mix in the cereal 3 cups at a time. Add up to an additional cup of cereal to reach desired marshmallow to cereal ratio.
  4. Press firmly into a parchment lined and greased 9×13 baking dish. Let cool and cut into 2″ squares.
  5. Top each square with 1 tablespoon of chopped pecans, 1 tablespoon of melted caramel, and 1 tablespoon of melted chocolate (in that order, stacked on top of each other as pictured). Let the layers cool and harden before serving.

If you make some, be sure to come back and comment to let me know. Snap. Crackle and Pop. 🙂

Enjoy Your Journey ~ Kristi

leave a comment

Leave a comment but be Niiiiice, I'm sensitive :)

