Natural Hair:: Heat Damage, Now What?


Heeey ladies,

I received this question from a reader and wanted to address it here just in case some of you have the same concerns about keeping your hair moisturized.

Hi Kristie, do you have any suggestions regarding what shampoos and conditioners to use to help put back in your natural curl pattern if you’ve been natural. I’ve lost a lot of my curl pattern because I wasn’t big on having the look of natural hair so I still had mine rollerset/blowdry/wrapped. Because of this most recent “heat wave” my hair doesn’t hold up as long now when I where it straight/blowdry. Now I am looking to wear it natural slightly wet because of the heat. Can you please recommend an inexpensive product that will put back some or a lot of the curl pattern. My hair is soft and somewhat fine.

Hi Jae! First off, thanks for visiting! 🙂

Unfortunately, there is no way to reverse hair that has been heat damaged. Your hair has been permanently straightened similar to it being chemically relaxed. I’ve not yet found a remedy to this other than cutting the damaged hair off. The two options are to either do a big chop or transition your hair back to its “natural” state. If cutting your hair is not something you’d like to do right now, start deep conditioning your tresses and really focus on the new growth.

image source: CurlyNikki.com (not the ETJ reader)

Eventually, the hair that was damaged will need to be cut off or you will have two different textures to try to manage. To say the least, styling can be more challenging. as your hair grows, trim the damaged ends and eventually you will be all natural with your curl pattern in tact.  You can begin to “transition” immediately by doing no-heat styles and really pampering your hair on a consistent basis.

To keep my hair moist, I deep condition every 7- 10 days and always, always use a moisturizing conditioner and always, always use a leave in conditioner. ( my staples: Kinky Curly Come Clean shampoo, Aussie Moist Conditioner/Herbal Essences Hello Hydration, ( conditioner that is moisturizing is key) , Kinky Curly Knot today for a leave-in. I also limit the number of times I use heat on my hair, usually no more than 3 – 4 times a year.

I hope I answered your questions and from this point on you will be on your way to a head full of healthy all natural hair.

As always,

One thought on “Natural Hair:: Heat Damage, Now What?

Leave a comment but be Niiiiice, I'm sensitive :)

