Natural Hair:: Natural does not always mean its Healthy hair!


As you may or may not know, I’ve recently celebrated being 3 years natural. Yaay me. Well, before you pour me a glass, let me say, that this last year, I’ve not been so good to my hair.  I put together a video of my year 2 to  year 3 and that’s when I really noticed a difference in the sheen and overall appearance of it since my 2 year anniversary.

When I first went natural, I was diligent about organic products, detangling, protective styling, and had one heck of a regimen.

Let’s fast forward to the last 9 months.. My poor hair has been suffering, no TLC. I deep condition… sort of.. but not really.. kwim? I add the products to deep condition but I definitely have not been spending much time pampering my natural hair. I blame it on going back to work full time but there really is no excuse. I’ve neglected it. AND it shows…

My hair is dryer more often and just doesn’t feel  as good as it used to. I’m going to start doing better and making this my official first post to getting my tresses healthy again. I’ll make a part 2 to this post and go into more details about the mistakes I’ve made. For now, I’m making the commitment to do better because now I realize that all the information I know and have shared with others only works if I DO IT for myself, too.

If I’m not successful at bringing it back to life, a hair cut may be in order. I’m not afraid of that either.

I want healthy hair, regardless of its length.

Tips, suggestions?

Thanks! Enjoy Your Journeys. ~ Kristi

3 thoughts on “Natural Hair:: Natural does not always mean its Healthy hair!

  1. Kp says:

    Good for you. It shows that you are paying attention. A lot of things can fall through the cracks when we try to keep all the balls in the air and typically the one that suffers in the end is ourselves. So Bravo for paying attention to your hair, I’m sure it will be happy.

Leave a comment but be Niiiiice, I'm sensitive :)

