Natural Hair:: My Wash Day Regimen


Hey Ya’ll. Some time ago, I was asked how I wash my hair.  Here are the details of my wash day regimen.

Note: I wash my hair once a week,  unless life takes over.. Times like that, I can go 10 days with out washing….. 🙂 I do add water to my hair every 3 days, regardless.

My wash day Regimen

1) Saturate my hair with water, conditioner ( usually cheapie conditioners like VO5 or Suave)  and oils ( olive oil, jojoba oil, avocado oil, or all of them mixed.)

2) Once the hair is well coated, finger part your hair into 2 sections. ::Usually right and left side::  Next I take those two sections and finger part them into two more sections. Making 4 sections in total.

3) Grab one section of hair. I take my wide tooth comb and go over it until the comb goes through easily. This only removes “some” tangles. I then go over that same section using my Denman brush { http://www.denmanbrush.com/acatalog/Classic_Styling.html } to get the remaining tangles out. I always, always, start from the ends of my hair and work my way up to the root. I find I get less shed and less breakage by following this routine. I twist each section as it has been detangled.  I continue this process until my entire head is free from knots.

4) Hop in the shower and rinse the conditioner out. ( I DO NOT REMOVE MY TWISTS) I allow the water to run gently over each section but it’s not critical to remove all of the conditioner because the next step is to shampoo.

5) I apply a small amount of shampoo ( I’m currently using Giovanni Triple Treat and/or Kinky Curly Come clean) I squirt a dime size amount into my palms and rub it on my scalp and hairline. The suds usually build up and its enough to completely cover my head. I use my hands to rub the extra suds off my hair.

6) DO NOT RINSE THE SHAMPOO YET!  I apply my favorite conditioner on top of the shampoo. Completely saturate the hair with conditioner, then rinse. Apply more conditioner, then I do one final rinse.

7) I apply leave in conditioner to my hair while it is still soaking wet. My favorite leave -in is Kinky Curly Knot Today.

8) I remove the twists and brush the sections again to ensure each strand is coated with the leave in conditioner. If I am doing a wash and go style, I apply my curl defining product. If I’m not sure what I’m going to do to my hair, I will not add any other products and twist my hair until I decide what style to do.

( See pictures below)

I hope this helps! If you have questions or want me to do a video tutorial, send me a message or leave a comment. I’ll happily do one but, no shower scenes for me.. sorry, not gonna happen. LOL 🙂

Enjoy Your Journeys. ~ Kristi

image

My hair after it's been washed/condtioned/detangled

image

My hair after it's been washed/condtioned/detangled

My hair after it's been washed/condtioned/detangled

Enjoy Your Journeys. ~ Kristi 🙂

One thought on “Natural Hair:: My Wash Day Regimen

Leave a comment but be Niiiiice, I'm sensitive :)

